Monday, March 03, 2008

nine inch nails: new 36-song album!

we all remember pretty hate machine... it's been a long time since the release of trent's first album under the nine inch nails moniker... and since then, the music business has changed for good and trent had had a lot to do with it (he even told australians to steal his album!)

first it was radiohead, then saul williams (trent's hip-hop protegé) and now it's trent's turn to release part of his new album for free. "ghosts i-iv" is a 36-song instrumental album and you can get the first 9 songs for free on his site or on any torrent site.

trent has had some issues with the digital release of ghosts... i, for one, have been unable to download either the free sampler or the $5 full album (which includes a 40-page pdf which is simply what every artist should do in these days). here's what trent wrote regarding ghosts:

"i've been considering and wanting to make this kind of record for years, but by its very nature it wouldn't have made sense until this point. this collection of music is the result of working from a very visual perspective - dressing imagined locations and scenarios with sound and texture; a soundtrack for daydreams. i'm very pleased with the result and the ability to present it directly to you without interference. i hope you enjoy the first four volumes of ghosts."

go to nin's site now!

No comments: