Wednesday, August 08, 2007

ministry - riding into the sunset in 2008

the last sucker will be ministry's final studio release.
the last sucker will be released on september 18 followed by a world tour in 2008, and then, after 11 studio albums and 27 years, including four grammy nominations ("n.w.o."/1993, "bad blood"/2000, "the great satan"/2005, "lieslieslies,"/2006), al jourgensen will lay ministry to rest and focus on expanding his borderland compound, 13th planet records."i've got a lot of side-projects and new projects i want to focus on," explained jourgensen. "we have our our own label, 13th planet records, we're building, and i want to sign, produce and collaborate with other artists. being in the studio writing, recording and collaborating is my favorite part of this snake-oil industry. i'd rather be behind the console than behind the mic. plus, i kinda like the synchronicity of dubya and ministry riding off into the sunset hand in hand."

the new 11-track ministry cd, the last sucker, is the third in an unrelenting and uber-critical trilogy aimed at exposing the foils, failures and fabrications perpetrated by the george w. bush administration. the last sucker, which follows houses of the mole (2004) and rio grande blood (2006), is the final nail in the dubya coffin.the last sucker was produced and recorded by al jourgensen at his 13th planet compound in el paso, tx with musicians thomas victor (prong) on guitars, paul raven (killing joke/prong) on bass and guitarist sin quirin (the revolting cocks). burton c. bell (fear factory, aotw) makes a vocal appearance on "die in a crash," as well as the album's final two songs, "end of days" parts one and two.
this is the tracklisting (click on the link for a sample of what the last sucker will sound like):
2. watch yourself
3. life is good
4. the dick song
5. the last sucker
6. no glory
7. death and destruction
8. roadhouse blues
9. die in a crash
10. end of days part one
11. end of days part two
more info on their website.

No comments: